5 Countries Who Most Losses At World Cup Final

To finish second in the FIFA World Cup is an incredible achievement. Getting to the top takes a lot of work, and staying there is an entirely different challenge. Like in any other sport, winners and losers will be, but how hard everyone tries matters. Since 1930, there have been 22 FIFA World Cup tournaments, each more exciting and significant than the last. These Countries Loss Most At World Cup Final.

However, for every victorious squad, there is a losing one. Although finishing second is a great achievement for the fans, the athletes who came close to winning should reconsider their efforts. See The Countries That Lose The Most At World Cup Finals Here.

5. Hungary (1938,1954)

Countries Loss Most At World Cup Final

Hungary is another team that has been to the final multiple times but has never won. In both 1938 and 1954, they competed in the finals. In 1938, they lost to their European neighbor Italy, who went on to win back-to-back championships for the first time in soccer history. In 1954, they, too, played in the final against West Germany.

Now they had Puskas and other top players on their side. They were up 2-0 in the finals against Germany before letting in three unanswered goals. The German national team won the World Cup for the first time in history.

4. Italy (1970,1994)

Countries Loss Most At World Cup Final

With six trips to the World Cup finals and four victories, Italy is tied for second all-time in that category. They won the World Cup thrice in a row between 1934 and 1938 and again between 1982 and 2006. On two separate times (in 1970 and 1994), the Azzurri competed in and lost the final. They faced a Brazilian team that featured legends like Pele and Jairzinho in 1970.

In a 4-1 victory, they ended Italy's World Cup hopes and Pele's career with three championships. Once before, in 1994, when superstar Roberto Baggio led the Italians, they advanced to the final but ultimately fell short. Brazil beat them again in the finals, but it was on penalties this time.

3. Netherlands (1974, 1978,2010)

Countries Loss Most At World Cup Final

The Netherlands has appeared in three World Cup finals but has never won the tournament. They've been called the best players who haven't yet won the World Cup. In 1974, with Johan Cruyff at the helm, they advanced to their first World Cup final. It was the Germans, led by another hero in Franz Beckenbauer, and featuring Gerd Muller in the final.

The final score was the Netherlands losing to Brazil, which meant they took home the silver. In the following tournament, 1978, they again made it to the final but were eliminated by Mario Kempes's Argentina. Argentina went on to win its first World Cup that year. In South Africa in 2010, they faced up against the Spanish Golden Generation in the final. They lost the finals again, and Spain became the first country to win the World Cup.

2. Argentina(1930,1990,2014)

In the inaugural FIFA World Cup, La Albiceleste came out on top. In the inaugural World Cup, they were eliminated by fellow South American nation Uruguay. In 1978 and 1986, they competed once more and triumphed in the finals. In the years afterward, though, they have reached two more World Cup finals—only to lose both times to Germany. The team that Maradona had led to victory in 1986 reached the final again in 1990, but this time they lost to the German squad coached by Lothar Matthaus.

The other time they made it to the final was in 2014, in Brazil, when Lionel Messi was the driving force. His team lost the Final against Germany despite his best efforts. In 2022, Argentina has again made it to the final, and they'll face France this time. It will be exciting to see if Leo Messi can win the one trophy he's still missing from his collection in what will likely be his last World Cup.

1. Germany (1966,1982,1986,2002)

These European powerhouses have lost four finals appearances in a row without ever taking home the trophy. They've also won the championship four times, most recently in 2014. So far, this is their fourth appearance in the FIFA World Cup final, making them the team with the most finals appearances. They're among the most successful teams in World Cup history. Although they have been to the finals of the World Cup on multiple occasions, they have never been able to win it.

England won that time in 1966, but it was their only World Cup victory. The 1982 season saw Italy win their third championship with Paolo Rossi at the helm. They returned to the finals in 1986 but lost to Maradona's Argentina. The Brazilians won their sixth world championship in 2002, defeating them. Between 1982 and 1990, they reached three consecutive finals, ultimately claiming victory in 1990. Only Brazil, except for Germany, can claim this accomplishment.
Share this article