College Football Playoff Bracket: Everything You Need To Know

The 2022-23 College Football Playoff Bracket is just around the corner and excitement is building for the highly anticipated event. This year's semifinals will take place on Saturday, December 31st, 2022 at the Fiesta Bowl and Peach Bowl, with the national championship game following on Monday, January 9th, 2023 at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, CA.
The CFP Selection Committee had the final say on which teams qualified for this year's playoff, with Georgia, Michigan, TCU, and Ohio State securing the top four spots in the final rankings. The bracket at the top of this page will be updated each week with the current top four teams in the country.

#1. When and Where to Watch the College Football Playoffs Bracket

college football playoff bracketSource: Sports Illustrated

The national semifinals will be held in Glendale, AZ and Atlanta, GA, with one game starting at 4:00 pm ET and the other at 8:00 pm ET (the NCAA has yet to determine which game will kickoff first). The national championship game will take place at 7:30 pm ET (4:30 pm local time).

#2. History of the College Football Playoff

college football playoff bracketSource: ESPN Press Room

College Football Playoff (CFP) was introduced in 2014-15 and this year marks the ninth edition of the four-team playoffs. Prior to the CFP, the BCS National Championship was in place from 1998-2014, and there was no official national championship game before 1998.

#3. Number of Teams in the College Football Playoff Bracket

college football playoff bracketSource: Sportsbettingdime

So, how many teams qualify for the CFP? Currently, only four teams are eligible for the playoffs, but the NCAA is planning to expand the CFP to 12 teams starting in the 2026 regular season (though there is a possibility of implementing the expanded postseason sooner).
But which bowl game is the national championship? Unlike in the early BCS era when an existing bowl game served as the title game, the national championship game has simply been known as the National Championship Game since 2006-07. This year, existing bowl games will serve as the national semifinals, with the Fiesta Bowl and Peach Bowl getting the nod.

#4. Qualifying for the College Football Playoff

college football playoff bracketSource: ClutchPoints

So, how do teams qualify for the CFP? The only way to secure a spot in the playoffs is to be chosen by the CFP Selection Committee, which is made up of 13 members. The composition of the group changes frequently, but for the 2022-23 season, the committee includes Gary Barta (Iowa), Mitch Barnhart (Kentucky), Paola Boivin (Arizona State), Tom Burman (Wyoming), Charlie Cobb (Georgia State), Boo Corrigan (NC State), Rick George (Colorado), Will Shields (Nebraska), Gene Taylor (Kansas State), and more.
Please visit our website daily to stay tuned for updates on this year's College Football Playoff bracket as we approach the highly anticipated event.
Share this article