Who Is The King Of World Cup? Top 5 Countries With Most WC Titles

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is rapidly approaching. Late this year, Qatar will play host for the 22nd time to the prestigious championship. Typically, the World Cup is held in the summer. Due to the unpredictable nature of the Asian climate, this year's event will take place in November instead. The World Cup is the most prestigious in all football tournaments, and every professional player dreams of leading his country to victory.
Over time, various countries have held the position of world power. Some countries have made it a habit to win the tournament, while others hope to make it to the main draw following grueling qualifying rounds. When the World Cup begins later this year in Qatar, all eyes will be on these teams that have previously won the tournament. It takes tremendous effort to win the World Cup once, but it takes a dedicated team and years of practice to win it back-to-back.

5. France – 2

Who Is The King Of World Cup, France – 2

Having previously won the tournament in Russia in 2018, France currently holds the title of defending World Cup champion. The French team that won the 2018 World Cup included several talented young players, such as Kylian Mbappe, and established veterans, such as Paul Pogba. They won their second title by defeating Croatia in the final.
In 1998, France won the World Cup for the first time. At the time, the country was holding the most prominent competition. In the final, Les Bleus upset defending champions Brazil to win the twentieth century’s final World Cup.

4. Argentina – 2

Who Is The King Of World Cup, Argentina – 2

In addition, Argentina has won the World Cup twice before. It wasn't until 1978 that South Americans finally took the prestigious trophy. The support of their home crowd helped them go all the way. They won the championship game with a 3-1 over the Netherlands. In 1986, however, they won again. The World Cup that year was played in Mexico, and the victor was Argentina, who edged out West Germany 3-2. France and Argentina are the only countries to win the World Cup twice. When Uruguay first competed in 1930, it won again in 1950.

3. Italy – 4

Who Is The King Of World Cup, Italy – 4

The Italian national soccer team has won the FIFA World Cup a record four times in a row. Italy initially won it in 1934, during the tournament's second edition and its first appearance in the country. To defend its position as world champion, the government declared the 1938 competition to be it's own.
Italy finally won their third World Cup a full 44 years later. In 1982 final, goals by Marco Tardelli, Paolo Rossi, and Alessandro Altobelli helped Italy to a 3-1 victory over West Germany. Before 2006, Italy had not been crowned World Champions since 1948. Zinedine Zidane was sent off during France's tense championship match against Italy for making fun of Marco Materazzi. The Azzurri triumphed in the title on penalty kicks. However, Italy did not make it to the World Cup in 2018 or the future 2022 tournament.

2. Germany – 4

Who Is The King Of World Cup, Germany – 4

Germany is only the second country, after Italy, to win the World Cup four times. Before 2014, the Germans had already won in 1954, 1974, 1990, and 2014. Germany has won three of the four World Cups, including the 2014 tournament in Brazil, despite the country's relatively modest size. In their most recent success, the Germans won the championship by defeating the Brazilian hosts by 7-1. Legend has it that in the 113th minute of the championship game against Argentina, Mario Gotze scored the game-winning goal.

1. Brazil – 5

Who Is The King Of World Cup, Brazil – 5

Brazil has had more victories at the FIFA World Cup than any other country. They've already proven themselves to be the best team in the tournament by winning five games. Pele led the Selecao to victory at the 1958 World Cup when he scored twice in the final game.
It's not the first time Brazil won the World Cup; they also took the trophy in 1962 and 1970 and again in 1994 and 2002. When the World Cup is held in Qatar, Selecao hopes to make history by becoming the first South American team to win in 20 years. Brazilian athletes have competed in every World Cup since the competition's start.
Share this article