Veganism is on the rise. On a daily basis, while many people continue to consume products that are made by exploiting animals, vegans are very confident in their healthy lifestyle without using animal-derived products. From choosing clothes and cosmetics or even house furniture, many of them are trying to shun stuff that is made from animal skins or have been tested on animals. And one of the defining characteristics of vegans is that they do not consume animal-based food.
However, some individuals are unaware of the origins and all of the ingredients in the food they consume every day. That puts them in an ironic scenario. Are you sure the mayonnaise we usually have on our sandwich is vegan? Actually, eggs are its base ingredient. Scroll down to read what occurred when a vegan customer demanded mayonnaise on her sandwich, as told by an anonymous employee who works at Subway. After all, reading the ingredients before consuming food is the golden rule here.
Ingredients: where our story begins.
One vegan was recently shocked to realize that one of her favorite sandwich components wasn’t vegan at all.
We’re not sure if we should cringe or laugh when an anonymous Internet user revealed an experience from the perspective of a Subway employee.
“Yesterday I had a chick come in, she told me she wanted a Veggie Delight, as I went to get the bread she asked me if I could change my gloves cause she was vegan and I had been handling meat. I did that, no problem, perfectly reasonable request. I get her breast, toast it and put all the veggies she wants on it, I start to wrap up her sandwich when she says, ‘Can I get some mayo?”
Source: Monk Island
Naturally, the staff felt compelled to inquire if the customer was aware of the situation if he knew “mayonnaise has eggs in it,” because that’s what a good Samaritan does. Then, he wrote:
“THIS. GIRL. JUST. STOOD. THERE. SILENT.”
Then she said:
“N-no it doesn’t, I get mayo every time, are you sure?”
He confirmed to the vegan consumer that their mayonnaise does contain eggs, and he said to the girl:
[she] stood there with such a distraught and defeated face. I had shattered this poor girl’s world.
However, the incredible story does not end there.
He asked her whether she still wanted mayonnaise on her sandwich after shattering her entire mayonnaise-loving world. The kicker? “YES“, she said.
So he gave her mayo, wrapped her sandwich up, and charged her for her sandwich, she was silent the whole time.
On her way out, he hollered:
“Have a nice day!”
“She just looked at me, sighed, ‘yea, I’ll try, and walked out. And that’s the story of how I taught a vegan that mayonnaise is, in fact, not vegan.”
I’ll leave you with this tidbit. You can find mayonnaise everywhere. But mayonnaise, including that served at Subway, is made using eggs, oil, lemon, vinegar, and seasoning.
Definitely not vegan.